In the heart of an artist lies all sorts of thoughts, emotions, and expressions waiting to be let out…

Another “love” post. Oh joy. But seriously, it’s a word that gets kicked around so often these days in society, I can’t help but wonder if it hasn’t lost all of its meaning.

I look around myself, and everyone seems to be hopping in and out of relationships, marriages,separations, and divorces. All involving people claim to “love” each other. Just to clarify, I’m talking about people that use the word love thinking that they’re truly “in love,” not necessarily like familial love or love between friends. That’s a different type of love.

I’ve seen people express that they’ve found their “soulmate” after dating them for less than a week. I’ve known people that have gotten married after only knowing each other for a couple of months. Friends have had children with a partner before marrying them, then stayed with them, often eventually marrying them, because “I love him/her.”

But what is love really? Why are people so quick to believe that they are in love or have found the person they were meant to marry right off the bat? I don’t understand this. Maybe it’s just me, but a relationship is like a garden. In needs to be tended to, cultivated… and this takes TIME. I’m not stupid enough to put a definitive timeline on how long it takes to truly fall in love, but I do believe that love as most people seem to “understand” it these days is commonly mistaken for lust, obsession, or anything in between. It’s not true “love,” which is on a totally different level.

At least… that’s the way I see it.

That’s why it’s hard to find someone. That’s why I’m not sure I can ever love. I want to fall in love, I want to experience true love. But I can’t help but wonder if it’s even possible in the dating world of the 21st century. I can’t be a casual dater. If I go on dates with women, it’s because I’m really looking for a partner. Yes, dates are fun, but if I ask a woman out on a date, it’s because I really do consider them a potential partner.

Is that bad? Am I doing anything wrong? I think I’ve digressed… that’s probably for another topic.

Let me know what you think.

~Moonsy

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

